Lana Burchett, Executive Director
t. 519.498-4574


Kate Wiens, Director of Residential Care
t. 519.276-3322


Lucie Stuart, Fundraising Manager
t. 519.276.3322


Ramona Gornik Lee, Office & Events Coordinator
t. 519.276.3322


Katie Jervis, Coordinator of Volunteers

t. 226-921-0646


Board of Directors

Andy Werner, Chair
Named the Beacon Herald’s 2016 Citizen of the Year Andy has been involved in making a hospice in Perth County a reality since 2013. A retired secondary school administrator, Andy has served on various boards and committees including Stratford Festival (chaired Property Committee - ACT III $15M renovation to main theatre), Optimism Place for Battered Women, Discovery Centre ($2.7M renovation), South West Community Access Centre (chaired Quality of Care committee).

Anne Fontana, Director
Along with our Chair, Anne was named the Beacon Herald’s 2016 Citizen of the Year for her dedication in making hospice care in Perth County a reality. A retired senior executive with Maple Leaf Foods Anne has extensive expertise in Supply Chain, Business Management and Change Management at both the operating and strategic planning levels. Her community involvement includes Director of Stratford Arts Foundation, directing the startup of the Stratford Summer Music festival through the first 5 years and Friends of the Festival member.

Dennis Young, Vice Chair
Dennis is retired after 35 years with the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities as a provincial and federal civil servant. A life-long resident of Stratford his interest in palliative care stems from life experiences with family and friends. Dennis has been actively involved with Gallery Stratford, Alzheimer’s Society and the Royal Canadian Legion.

Dr. Linda Bathe, Secretary
Linda has been a member of the Rotary Club of Stratford for 20 years and instigated the Club’s interest in promoting a residential hospice for Perth County. Currently as Club President, she is working to raise leadership funding for the project. A partner in Romeo Optometry in Stratford for 29 years, she has served the College of Optometrists of Ontario for 14 years including 6 years on Council and one term as President. Linda also was a member of Gallery Stratford and Auction Chair for 2 years.

Stephen Mitchell, Treasurer
A partner with the chartered professional accountants Mitchell Pearce Professional Corporation, Steve has served on various boards in Perth County including Stratford Perth YMCA, United Way; Stratford & District Chamber of Commerce; Parkview United Church and Family Services Perth Huron. Steve also Co-Chaired the 2011 United Way Campaign.

Sarah Hamza, Public Relations Chair
Since 2014, Sarah has served as the Director of Audience Development at the Stratford Festival. Her career has progressed through a series of strategic leadership positions in strategy and government relations, having earned an MBA from the Richard Ivey School of Business.  Sarah moved to Stratford in 2012 with her young family, actively serving the community as a proud Rotarian, as well as on the Boards of the Chamber of Commerce, and Stratford Tourism Alliance.

Katherine Hewitt, Director
Born and raised in Stratford, Katherine is a retired nurse who nursed not only in B.C., Alberta and Ontario but also the United States and Saudi Arabia.  She obtained her MBA from Heriot Watt University in Edinburgh, Scotland.  Retired from the Mississauga-Halton Community Care Access Centre as a Director of Patient Care in 2015 she returned home with her husband Bev Hewitt after 37 years away.  In the past, Katherine has volunteered for Red Cross and the 14th World Festival of Children’s Theatre. 

Mary Raithby, Director
Mary is currently the CEO of APANS Health Services, which operates five long-term care homes in Southwestern Ontario.  Mary is a registered nurse and has worked in a variety of sectors, with most of her career in long-term care.  Mary has been involved with establishing a hospice in Perth County since 2013 and is honoured to serve our community in providing access to quality end of life care.

Sue Wakelin, Director
Born and raised in Stratford, then spending over 30 years in western Canada, Sue and her husband Al recently returned to Stratford and opened the Cottage on Caledonia Bed & Breakfast. As a Human Resources leader and consultant, and a Certified Employee Benefits Specialist, Sue continues to provide HR solutions to her clients. She is a current member of the Rotary Club of Stratford and Policy Chairperson for the Perth-Wellington Federal Liberal Association.

Tyler Van Dyke, Director
Tyler was raised on a small farm in Perth County. President of T&T Power Group, a power generation and energy solutions firm, Tyler has served his community as the President of the Newton Athletic Association, a member of Burns Presbyterian Board of Managers, and is currently a member of the hospice’s Building Committee serving on the Construction Site Meeting Committee.

Charitable Registration No. 72776 0126 RR0001   Legal Name: Stratford Perth Hospice Foundation 

© 2018 Stratford Perth Rotary Hospice     Website design by